Guess Who’s Back. Back Again.

After a ridiculously long sabbatical (if that’s what you want to call it) I’m back and committed to maintaining my blog. Really though, the only reason why this is occurring is circumstantial. My boyfriend (and here it gets blah blah journal like) left for a job training program that will last for six months… half way across the country. Upon his completion of the program I will be joining him… half way across the country. For the remanding six months though, I will be spending nearly all of my time thinking of ways to preoccupy myself during the incredibly long and dull winter in Maine. Thankfully for my boyfriend though, he will be in a MUCH warmer part of the country. Needless to say, I am less than thrilled, but life is never easy. It’s necessary to update anyone who is reading that my job status has changed again. In the last year, I have been a student, water quality researcher, nursery worker and now, advertising representative. As a child, I always dreamed of working at a newspaper and now I finally am. While selling ads to sometimes pompous business owners has it’s own ups and downs, it is head and shoulders above the days of misery back at the nursery. Ask me this in a few months, and I might disagree but for now it’s tolerable. Out of all the “occupations” I’ve had though, I would most definitely rank student as the best. Where else can you live so carelessly, drink during the daylight hours and consider a night of wandering through the snow with friends successful? Unbeknownst to the eternal college student, there is a life outside of the dorm (and classroom if you went.) Upon graduation the eminent 9-5 doom looms overhead like a vacuum cleaner waiting to suck you in to the never ending monotony of corporate America. I anxiously anticipate a day when I escape the accurately termed “daily grind” and make a difference in the world, doing whatever it takes to satisfy my work needs. For now though, I pay the bills. And I wait.

Leave a Reply

